Return to the Growing under Lights Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
loosing hope, 2 ft. T-8

Posted by wendyz NC (My Page) on
Tue, Jan 10, 06 at 14:52

Hello Light folks,

I have comed Home Depot, Lowes, and several lighting stores on the web to find a 2 foot long fluorescent fixture that will hold two T-8 bulbs.

Does *anyone* know where I can find such an animal?? We are stuck with needing the two foot length because we are under-mounting a bookcase for our African Violets. I'm a newbie (can ya tell!)

Thank you for any replies,
Wendy

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: loosing hope, 2 ft. T-8

Try looking in your local yellow pages under "Lighting fixtures-retail" or "Electric equipment and supplies-retail". What you are looking for is an electrical supply/lighting company that sells to professionals (wholesale) as well as the average consumer (retail). They will usually have a much larger selection of lighting fixtures. 2' and 3' T8 fixtures are not that uncommon.

o

Thank you for your reply!
Blessings,
Wendy

o

I bought 2 foot shop lights at lowes.

Elizabeth

o

Pet stores may also carry 2' lights for smaller aquariums. If they're not in stock, a pet supply website should certainly have them.

o

I found 2-ft fixtures at Home Depot today, BUT they only carried 20-watt bulbs to go in them. My question is whether a 2/20 watt bulb set-up is enough to stard seedlings. I remembered reading something that specified 40-watts as a goal--are two 20s the same thing????

o

You find find much more than 20W in a straight 24" tube. I know you can get 24W T5s in that length (actually 22") but they aren't easy to find. I've never seen a 24" T8 that puts out more than 20W which means you are unlikely to run across one in HD.