Return to the Growing under Lights Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need advice - grow light for wintering plants

Posted by tulley (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 31, 10 at 19:27

Hello all!

I had a friend send me a plumeria cutting, and a white ginger root. I planted them, but sadly I have NO good light in my home. I need some help for the winter months when they have to live inside.

Could any of you suggest a grow light I can buy? Nothing huge . . maybe just a little one that clips on the side of the pot? How many hours a day does it need to be on?

Thank you all SO MUCH for your expertise and help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need advice - grow light for wintering plants

• Posted by donaldb 5B Worcester, MA (My Page) on
    Tue, Feb 2, 10 at 8:57

Greetings. You need but to Google GROW LIGHTS and you will find a wealth of information that will help you.

o

Maybe this can be more helpful, Tulley: read through this forum - I am new to all this as well, and have scoured this forum for useful tips. I am going to install ordinary shoplights to add some light during the winter months. I am also considering compact fluorescent bulbs (CFL's) that you can pop into a regular lamp fixture and use it as a spot for a single plant or two. There are many very technical threads here, but also many simple and straightforward ones - just take some time to read through - I am glad I did!
Anna

Here is a link that might be useful: Helpful ideas here re. lighting inside

o

Check this thread as well.

Here is a link that might be useful: Growing under lights

o

-- "Greetings. You need but to Google GROW LIGHTS and you will find a wealth of information that will help you."

To Google something, is of course my first step with anything. I however, found the information a bit overwhelming, and why I came here to ask the experts.