Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bjbremer

Begining indoor growing questions.

bjbremer
18 years ago

Hello,

I am a college student growing a bunch of plants from seed under my bed and I was wondering if you would have any advice on how I have things set up right now. This is all pretty new to me, basicly a month ago I bought a bunch of things from Walmart to play around with and found out that watching my plants grow is pretty enjoyable.

Right now I have two shoplights with daylight bulbs in each. I turn them on when I get up in the morning and off when I go to bed so they are on for about 16 hours a day. Some plants turned out to be really leggy while others seem to be doing better. I have a variety of things planted; some morning glory, tomatoes, pumpkins, sunflowers, impatiens, bachelor buttons and forget-me-nots among others.

I have some pictures here of the progress if anyone is interested:

http://mtu.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2004116&l=917ee&id=6604435

I guess I'm just looking for ways to improve what I am doing right now. Should my plants be located closer to the lights? I thought I read in another thread that if the lights are far away plants get leggy. Thanks!

Comments (10)

• watergal
    18 years ago

It's hard to tell from your photo just how close the lights are, but you can and should put them about two to three inches from the tops of the plants. I see a humidifier in there - good idea!

• bjbremer
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Okay, they are much further than two or three inches. They are probably three feet away, I will have to figure out how to lower my bed or raise the plants!

• irina_co
    18 years ago

Looks like you have way too many plants for these 2 shoplights. The ones that are directly under lights - are more or less OK, the ones on a side - just no good.