Return to the Growing under Lights Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Car Sunshade To Reflect Light?

Posted by dougdecinces Indiana (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 25, 11 at 9:14

I have a few dozen plants growing under lights right now. It's crowding up my single fluorescent light setup, and I'm looking for ways to reflect/maximize light. My first idea was one of those reflective accordion car shades you put in windshields. It's cheap, it'd be roughly the same size, and it's something I can use over and over.

Of course, I'm still new to this whole game, so I'm open to any suggestions for making my fluorescent light setup more effective.

Here's an example of what I'm talking about http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Expressions-111106-Max-Reflector-Standard/dp/B000CAINDE/ref=sr_1_8?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1298642586&sr=1-8

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Car Sunshade To Reflect Light?

I think most people (including myself) use mylar. It comes in rolls that can be cut to any size, and is cheaper per square foot than car sunshades. I got mine from a local hydroponics shop, but you can buy it online from any number of places.

o

I watch for the emergency thermal blankets to go on clearance. They are strong mylar and very cheap.

Way cheaper than buying mylar at the hydro store. I think I may have enough to cover a warehouse, LOL.

Here is a link that might be useful: My Hydroponic Adventure

o

That most likely is mylar covered cardboard. Mylar can be found fairly cheap at hobby and party stores. It's the same stuff fancy balloons are made from.

o

I DO use auto shades.... but I got them in the fall on clearance for like a dollar each..

o

I use car sunshade to reflect light to making my fluorescent light setup more effective.
but my car sunshade material is silver nylon instead of the bubble car sunshade.
i think the link you show is bubble sunshade,
both the silver nylon sunshade and bubble sunshade can reflect light, but silver nylon car sunshade is more durable.