Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
6stringer_gw

New Light Set-up - Garage?

6stringer
11 years ago

Hey all,

First time poster. So, for Valentines day my wife got me two 48" T5 flourescent light fixtures, each holding one bulb. We are kinda new to gardening, but have always wanted to try this. The only problem is, we simply do not have much room in the house to construct a shelving unit. At least any extra space that is permanent.

So my question is, what do I need to be concerned about as far as setting up in my garage? The garage is not heated, but I my home has a tuck under garage that due to site topography is entirely underground with the exception to where the garage door is, and partially insulated. It stays rather warm out there even in the coldest of MN winter months, never goes below freezing - I can go out there when its -10 below out in jeans and a sweatshirt and be fine. As part of the gift she got me heating mats.

As a heads up, we are total newbs to this, so really have no clue what we are doing.

I have a perfect spot in the garage where the shelving units could go, and after looking at the pictures of most people's set ups, I could easily put that together. But should I be concerned about the air temps?

The shelves would be primarily for vegetable seedlings, although I have always had a thing for orchids - especially every one I have killed or watch never bloom again :) (the focus would be for vegetable seedlings though).

Any tips or suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

Comments (4)

• art33
    11 years ago

Hi and welcome to GardenWeb!

Well, I don't grow vegetables myself, just flowers. However in regard to growing vegetables in your unheated garage, I'm sure it would depend a great deal on which vegetables you grew. I know that lettuce, for example, will grow in temperatures in the forties. On the other hand, warm season vegetables, such as tomatoes, would probably require temperature at least in the sixties, probably even the seventies?