Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
danielleonfire_gw

mini greenhouse lighting

danielleonfire
11 years ago

Hello! I'm looking for some advice regarding shelf lighting. I have a mini greenhouse shelf unit that i would like to use mainly for starting seedlings (see attached picture). It's situated on my back covered patio which gets a bit of diffuse sunlight, but is primarily shade - and a good deal darker than it looks in the photo. I'm not sure what kind of lighting setup I should use (I'd like to keep it budget-friendly). I'm okay with just using the top few shelves if necessary and keeping supplies in the bottom one. Should I place lights inside or light from the outside? Light from above or the sides? I'm brand new to growing under lights and any help is really appreciated!

Happy growing :)
Danielle

Comments (8)

• eircsmith
    11 years ago

Thanks for sharing image of mini greenhouse.
    I wish to have more information related to mini greenhouse. I am planning to have mini greenhouse.
    Thanks

• danielleonfire
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Not sure what information I can give you since I've never used one before, but it had decent reviews online (amazon) and was really easy to put together. I got mine at Lowes for a fairly reasonable price (though I had to find an associate to help me find where they were stocked).

• dowlinggram
    11 years ago

The main thing I see with these greenhouses is the plastic doesn't come right to the ground so cold air can just swoosh up inside. They also tip easily outside.

If you want to use lights you'd have to measure the length and get ordinary fluorescent shop lights. A 2 bulb fixture with fins on the sides to concentrate the light down is all you'd need. Of course you'd need one for each shelf.