Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nuttydrums

CFL Odor & My health

Nuttydrums
10 years ago

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the growing under lights world, and I tried to start out growing with CFLs in my bedroom. My first ever CFL grow lights were 2 ECO Bulbs by Fiet Electric 6500k 40 watt bulbs that I ordered off of Home Depots website. I also got 2 8 inch clamp fixtures to go with the CFLS. Seeing as I am new to growing indoors, I didnt wanna spend a ton of money, cause I mainly wanted to see how this would all pan out.

I started getting into small indoor Cactus, and Succulents. These are the plants I am trying to maintain, and grow. Those and basically anything that catches my eye down the road. So I purchased the lights, and some clamp light fixtures. I set them up on my old Pearl drum rack, which was perfect cause the whole center bar lowers and raises. I turned the lights on, they fired up great, and everything was working fantastically! I used the lights for a few weeks, and they REALLY sped up plant growth, I was extremely impressed. Things that were struggling to hang on, due to poor light conditions in the winter months, rooted, grew greener growth, and buds! I was super happy!

At this point nothing was unusual. I believed I felt completely normal, but looking back either I was really fine, or I didnt realize I wasnt fine.

Eventually I realized I need more lights, so I went to walmart grabbed some GE 26 watt bulbs, 6 in total! 3 6500k and 3 2700k. I used 2 pairs of GE bulbs with y adapters with 2 more clamp fixtures, and as soon as I turned them on I was even more excited!