Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deweymn

Three K's of florescent lighting

deweymn
17 years ago

I am by no means an expert in lighting. I know about and have used different types of florescents like Cool White, Warm White, plant and aquarium, Gro Lites, and full spectrum lights (whatever they are).

With my recent seed starting trays I noticed something. I had a couple of cell packs, about a dozen plants sprouting and they still had the first two leaves on and were about 2" tall. Above them, 3" or so, was a 15" warm white bulb. To the left was a T12 cool white bulb in a smaller fixture. That was going to be a special area with a seperate light timer. Well, these little buggers were bent 90 degrees toward that light that I had left on for a day or so. They favored that bulb over the warm white that was closer.Ok, so I switched them to a new area with the newer sprial 13w bulbs. A strip of six of them and they get more heat from those spirals and seem to be doing fine along with the other seed trays I have on that shelf. The temp seems to hold about 75with the lites on and 65 for the six hours it is off. As you can tell, I am experimenting a bit.

Anyway, back to the three K's.

I stopped at a local big box retailer and looked at their florescent lighting options From what I could find on the bulbs and packages I found that it is confusing for sure. And they don't all have the full info on the package but here is what I found:

K lumens (Don't look that word up in the dictionary unless you have a masters in library science)

Kolor Temp (A K figure listed on most bulbs....Cool white has a higher K than warm whites...plant and aquarium lites have the lower lumen figure but didn't give the K value but I assume it is also lower)

Kost (Varies but seems to rise with pretty packaging/fancy names rather than lumen or K value?)

All the lights that I looked at were GE and that was the main brand that this retailer sold.

F30T12 36" Kitchen and Bath 2200 lumens 3000K $6.96ea