Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dsb22_gw

Rookie planted too soon...lights to keep vines healthy until May

dsb22
13 years ago

I've been gardening for 6 years but this is the first time I've ever started anything from seed. I realized too late that my heat mat would speed up germination from what was indicated on the seed package. My hyacinth bean vine seeds germinated in 4 days. Right now (three weeks later) they're about 5" tall (including the pot) and growing pretty quickly.

I'd like to find a fairly inexpensive way to give them enough light until our last frost date in mid-May. My current, regular fluorescent, light set up will work until they get to ~18". After that--I'm thinking of putting them in front of a large, east-facing window that gets northern light as well, supplemented with a compact fluorescent plant light. I'm looking at a "Feliz 125 Watt Compact Fluorescent Daylight 6500K Replacement Bulb" in a "Compact Fluorescent Cord Set w/Socket for Vertical Hanging" from http://homeharvest.com/hydrofarmcompactfluorescents.htm. Would that generate sufficient light for 12 plants? How far from plants should a light like this be? I'm open to other suggestions as well.

Thanks for any help

Deanna

Comments (16)

• wordwiz
    13 years ago

Forget that light - far too expensive! You can buy 105-125 watt CFL bulbs for $20-30 and you can use a cheap, clip-on type of reflector. Each bulb will cover about 4 sq. ft.

Mike

• dsb22
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the help. I have found a 125 CFL on Amazon for $30 incl shipping. Could you point me towards the type of reflector you're referring to? All the reflectors I'm finding are running at least $40 with shipping, and don't seem to be clip on.

Deanna

• taz6122
    13 years ago

Here's one at lowes similar to the ones he's talking about.

Here is a link that might be useful: work light

• wordwiz
    13 years ago