Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cprice_gw

white fuzzy stuff all over tray

cprice
19 years ago

I have two germinating trays that were sterile and filled with a sterile germinating mix of peat and perlite. I have them filled with chamomile and peppermint seeds. The tray was wrapped in plastic and set under fluorescent lights 24/7 for the last 4 days. I lifted the plastic today because I saw green and noticed that both trays are covered with a white fuzzy mass I assume to be fungus?? My set up is inside a basement with a fan blowing 24/7 in the same general area. Should I assume I have damping off or some other problem and get the trays out of the basement or should I do something else? Thanks! I'm new to forcing germination indoors and under light.

Comments (8)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    19 years ago

White fuzzy stuff is not damping off, but it is a mould. Damping off is when the seedlings are keeled over at soil level. If you look closely the very base of the stem is black and shrivelled and the seedling is a goner.

Sterile equipment and soil is only sterile until your breath near it, or put seed in it, or water it :) Whitw mould on the surface is not the worst kind, but it may indicate that conditions are too humid. At this point, a fungicidal spray may be necessary to prevent the seedlings being overwhelmed, something like a copper ocychlorate or sulphate. Or it might be enough just to let the surface of the soil dry out a little. Leave the lid of and move the air about a bit with the fan, but don't blast the seedlings too hard or you'll kill them.

• cprice
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thank you shrubs n bulbs, I just removed the foil I placed around the light to see if I can get more air flow. I was hoping the foil would give a better field of light but it might have caused too much humidity.

• skippy05
    19 years ago

Put a little peroxide on a Q-tip & wipe away the mold.
    I have seen this mentioned several times in the growing from seed forum.