Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosemallow_gw

T8 Lamps and T12 lamps

rosemallow
16 years ago

I am new to growing under lamps. I am an electrician.

Maybe I am missing something here, but T8 bulbs installed in a T12 ballast will not work correct. Although,they may work they will be short lived or flicker.

And vise versa T12 lamps in a T8 ballast application.

I am reading that many are using the 41k 32 watt flourescent lamps. I was wondering if the 65k would be better? They list for about $3.50 each.

Would my seeds like a mix of the 41k and 65k lamps?

Also, reflector kits can be purchased for my 4 by 2 fixtures will that help?

Thanks!

Comments (3)

• chadg
    16 years ago

You are right that T8 and T12 is not compatible. I tried it (not knowing any better) and the T12 fixure make the T8 bulb flicker.

I am a newbie and I am just starting, but i am going to use 4 T8 bulbs over my lettuce. I am using 6500K bulbs.

There is a thing i discovered call Wien's law that lets you find out the peak wavelength of 6500K. Since most of the charts i have seen for the lights that plants like is listed in nanometers this conversion is handy.

http://greenpinelane.com/lights_main_menu.aspx

Wavelength (nanometers) = 3,000,000 / Col temp (Kelvin)

6500K has a peak of 462nM
    4100K has a peak of 732nM

You can see 732nM is a bit out of range on the plant chart.

What i have learned is flourescent T12 and T8 tend to just not be powerful enough. You need more of them and you have to keep them close to the top of the plants. So if you have tall plants they dont penetrate deeply into the plant.

The T5's are more powerful and that is what you see in commercial grow lights.

This is what i have learned so far. Hopefully someone will correct me if i am wrong.

Here is a link that might be useful: Wien's Law

• jerseytomato
    16 years ago