Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rockymountainchile

overdriving fluorescents

rockymountainchile
19 years ago

I have read a number of posts refering to "overdriving" fluorescent lights"... I am curious about what that does. More intensity/lumens? How is it done? Etc...

Comments (25)

• FLAME747
    19 years ago

Hey,
    I've ben asking the same question, but i looks like this question had been asked so many time that the ole timers are sick of it, anyhow i overdrove 4 2-tube fixtures over this weekend, WOW i've got a lot more light, don't have a light meter, but i can tell with just 2-fixtures "4-tubes> i got more light than i did with the old 8-tubes. with all 8 light it is very very bright.

I've posted some pic's on this forum on how i wired the ballast, note: i am not an expert, i just connected the wires, crossed my finger, and flicked the switch, so far nothing blew up, and the house is still standing :)

I 've have to watch my plants over the the month, to see how they are responding to the new set up.

good luck

Here is a link that might be useful: pics of ballast

• korney19
    19 years ago

Flame, congratulations, your wiring looks like you did it exactly the way shown in zink's pic for a 4-light ballast.

Rocky, see the link below, it's the current overdriving thread but I believe somewhere in it is a link to the original, I think on someone else's site.

I have asked a couple questions and started a thread, as well as answered a couple questions where I could, and this forum doesn't seem as user "friendly" as others such as the tomato forum where I often answer someone's questions within minutes or often don't mind discussing their problem off-list.