Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gogojuice_gw

My plants are wilting under my lights..any advice?

GoGoJuice
13 years ago

I'm really really new to this.

Tried reading as much as I can.

I have started my seeds. blue fescue grass, frosted curls and dusty millers. The frosted curls didn't come up after the 14 days. Think I may have planted them to deep. Is there any point waiting any longer. They are under the plastic jiffy tray on a heating pad?

The other two have germinated and are about 3 inches tall. I realized I needed some lights since they are in the basement and have puy them under 2xT8's 34 watts. I have lowered the lights to approx 2 cm above the plants. I'm wondering if I have them too close.

Should I have taken off the plastic dome in the tray now that there germinated?

Today I notice that the grass seems to be wilting. I think a couple of the strands may be touching the lights. The lights don't seem to be hot and I don't believe that I have over watered the plants.

Any suggestions?

As a side not.. I notice on the back of the seed packets that it says 7-14 days to germinate. However.. My last frost date is approx may 26, How can I figure out when to plant them so that they are in full bloom and ready to go by that date? I plan to move them to my green house in the middle of April

Comments (7)

• nutsaboutflowers
    13 years ago

Hi there. I'm not even close to an expert at this, but I thought I'd put in my two cents worth in case nobody else answers your questions soon enough.

First of all, are your 3 inch plants still covered with the dome? I'm not certain, as in one part you ask if you should have taken the dome off, but you also say the grass might be touching the lights. If you still have the domes on, take them off immediately. As soon as you get germination, you remove them.