Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pintail_gw

Reflector or additional shoplights?

Pintail
19 years ago

This is my first time to grow annual seeds under lights and I purchased a standard, double tube 48" flouresent shoplight from HD. I have two 10" wide x 22" long flats a few inches under the lights and want to add two more flats. Will the shoplight I have give enough light to cover 20" wide or should I use a reflector or get another light? If you recommend reflectors, what should i use?

Comments (7)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    19 years ago

It would be useful to know which plants you want to grow, but the majority of annual seeds require high light even when very small. Typically they will tolerate full sunlight even before the true leaves appear.

My short answer is that you need another two tubes.

Your two-tube fitting probably has the tubes about 6" apart, giving fairly good coverage of a 10" tray assuming the two trays are placed end to end under the lights. The tubes can be placed an inch or two from the top of the seedlings. If you add two more flats then you either have an arrangement that is 84" long and so is longer than the lights, or it is 20" wide and you can't put the tubes close enough to the seedlings and still evenly light the whole width.