Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tanyag_gw

mini spiral fluorescent bulbs

tanyag
17 years ago

I am new to growing under lights. I am trying to start seed and keep a few herbs and vegetables starts healthy until all danger of frost is gone. Though I live in Houston, the temps are still dropping into the 30's. I am wondering about some mini spiral fluorescent bulbs that I bought at HD. The brand is n:vision and they are rated as "daylight" bulbs. Their output is 840 lumens. If I use these in a three-lamp torch light directly over the mini greenhouse I've made, will they work? I also have two of the 24" fluorescent portable undercabinet grow lights that will be directly above the starts. Is this enough to work for seed starting and is it enougt to keep the other herbs and veggies healthy for a couple more weeks? Thanks for any input.

Comments (8)

• sunslight
    17 years ago

hi Tanya,

welcome to gowning under lights.
    It can be lots of fun, some times sad (when damp off hits, etc.); always has things old and new to learn;
    and gives you a real sense of accomplishment when everything works well. --besides, it lets you choose what you want to grow and not what the greenhouses have brought to the stores.

Here's my opinions on your questions, beginning with the latter:

1) "grow lights." As strange as it may seem, these special, expensive lights are used to "show" the plant, and not to grow it.
    We see colors because that is the spectrum (Kelvin temperature) that is reflected to our eyes. When your flower/plant is placed beneath a grow light, it looks brighter, more vibrant, because the grow light is putting out more of that color, to be reflected, rather than absorbed, for growing.

The 2' fluorescents should be okay if you put in at least one cool white bulb. What's often used for starting and for growing is a combination soft & cool white or two cool whites.