Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennieboyer

Brand new - need advice

jennieboyer
12 years ago

Hi All - I thought I posted this yesterday, but don't see it. Please forgive if this is a repeat.

I am brand new to growing under lights - I have germinated seedlings in little pots and tried to put in a sunny window - they get too leggy. I'm ready to try under lights, but have no idea how to get started.

I have a table that is about 3x4 feet - I need a light that can sit on the table - no real ability to mount anything. I am open to adjustable lights - actually would prefer them if I can get the right setup.

I am looking for any recommendations on how to source/choose grow lights that can sit on a table over the plants. Thanks in advance for your help!

Jennie

Comments (6)

• cearbhaill (zone 6b Eastern Kentucky)
    11 years ago

Is budget a factor?
    Because there are all manner of tabletop systems- I have linked one below for you.
    This is what I use to start my seedlings.
    You can certainly do it 95% more cheaply using a shop light on stacks of books- it all depends on budget and aesthetic requirements.

Here is a link that might be useful: adjustable tabletop lighting

• jennieboyer
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Good question! I would like to do this fairly cheaply - I am new to gardening from seed and probably going to do less than 20 seeds each year. I tried a shop light (clamp on), but the seeds kept reaching in the direction of the light - I couldn't get it directly above them. Would like to stay around $50-75 if that is possible.

The one you did link to looks great - just don't think I can afford it :-)

• art33
    11 years ago

Jennie,