Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grdnr

Am I doing this right?

Grdnr
19 years ago

I am new to starting my seeds indoors and have a few questions regarding artificial light.

1. What is the T rating you refer to when describing fluorescent light? Mine are labeled T12. Is it appropriate for this application?

2. I am using three 24" fluorescent fixtures, each hold 1 bulb per fixture with GE 20 watt plant & aqarium bulbs per 72 cell seed tray. They are fixed about 1.5" above the seedlings. If this enough light, overkill, or very inefficient?

3. Is there a cheaper alternative to what I am doing. My entire setup consists of a total of two shelves, both lit in the same manner with three fixtures per shelf. I feel as if I may be creating an unsafe situation, as I am controlling each set of 3 lights with one timer. Both timers are plugged into a good surge protecter. Any suggestions?

Comments (5)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    19 years ago

T describes the thickness of a fluorescent tube in eights of an inch. T12 is 12/8" or about 1.5". They are suitable although the most modern fittings tend to use T8.

Each timer is only driving about 60W and I'm sure they are rated for much higher than that. Shouldn't be a problem with safety.

Assuming a standard 20"x10" tray, you are providing about 40W/square foot, which is potentially more than enough. It is certainly enough for seedlings when positioned at 1.5". I would imagine that the three fixtures are actually slightly larger than the trays? If so, you might be better using just two fixtures with white side pieces to reflect some of the light back onto the plants.

• nopastels
    19 years ago