Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
slimak_gw

T5 Fixtures

slimak
10 years ago

I'm new to indoor growing and am learning about it before purchasing the necessary equipment so your help will be appreciated. I'm planning to grow vegetable plants such as tomatoes, peas, beans, peppers as far as bigger plants go in a 4x4 grow tent. I'm leaning toward t5 lights for starters as I'm not too comfortable leaving hot HIDs while I'm not present. I understand that when it comes to fixtures reflectors are important. Is there a big difference in performance of the popular brands or nominal and I should just look at the best price? Also how many bulbs for this grow area would be sufficient 6 or 8 ? Any brand suggestions??

Comments (4)

• SouthCountryGuy Zone 4b-5 SE BC
    10 years ago

Welcome to indoor gardening slimak! I only started indoor gardening last year with T5 lights so my results may not be totally typical.

If you plan to grow veggies to harvest I personally don't believe you can have too many T5 lights. In a 4X4 area I have 16 bulbs overhead.

Regarding the reflectors I found using the reflectors that came with sunblaster or pro light produced just about 2x as many lumens as ordinary fixtures. This test could also be skewed slightly as the sample is very low. I took one 2 bulb fixture to the local nursery and tested it against their 2 bulb fixtures.

I can only comment on bulb performance regarding seedlings. This winter I will try crops under different bulbs to see how harvest differs. In my experience the bulbs rated (online research) with a higher par value had my plants lean in that direction. I was able to test 6 different types of bulbs. In the end, the full spectrum bulbs seemed to be the best over cool or warm lights, granted PAR value was lower on all other bulbs.