Return to the Growing under Lights Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
seed starting- can I leave lights on at nighttime?

Posted by jenottawa none (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 8, 13 at 22:34

Since we are on a "peak" and "off-peak" rate hydro billing schedule, I am wondering if it would be possible to set lights to be 7pm-7am, rather than 7am-7pm (for example). They will be growing in my basement on the workshop bench. There is a small window in the room that gives natural night, but no direct sunlight. Do I need true dark downtime for seedlings?
(lettuce, cucumbers, squash, kale, swiss chard..)
Thanks very much! This is my first time starting stuff inside, I am very excited! I am borrowing a couple of fluorescent light setups from my neighbour (a warm and cool tube side by side), if that makes a difference!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: seed starting- can I leave lights on at nighttime?

I don't believe the plants you mention are as fussy about it as others particularly during seedling stage. But you can cover the window with a Shade or a curtain etc. Or consider a compromise like 4 AM - 4 PM or 10 PM- 10 AM for examples. 4 - 8 hours of subdued light should be fine for plants that are not photoperiodic. However keep in mind many plants prefer cooler temps during their dark time.
~Ken~

o

Plants under lights need 16 hours of light. Keep the lights no more than an inch or 2 from the plants. Put some dark fabric on window to control light times.

o

Plants under lights need 16 hours of light. Keep the lights no more than an inch or 2 from the plants. Put some dark fabric on window to control light times.

o

jenottowa,

I have my lights set to run from 10am-2am. This way I can check the plants before I go to work, before their daytime begins, and when I get home, half way through the plants day. This way I have less chances of drying out.

FWIW, one 80w fixture (two 40w bulbs) would cost me about $2.90/month at 16hrs/day in BC at my most expensive rate.

o