Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kevin_nsw

Heat and Light verses Light alone

kevin_nsw
18 years ago

Hi All,

Im new at this,so if i ask something that has already been covered...Im sorry.

I did a search,but no-one that Im aware of has put this altogether as a subject.

I live in Australia and winter is coming,the useable light is only about 6 hours a day,so my herbs are REALLY slowing down and Ive decided to bring the most important one inside and put it under lights.

So the question is,do i need light like the Halide which have the aluminium hood(and chew a lot of power),that Ive been told that throws out a lot of heat,or is it best to have the fluro type that only has the light you need.

In the house its never below 20C,so its not cold,but will the heat have a big factor in growth?

The herbs have very fine leaves,so to much heat will fry them.I was playing with a 150 watt halide @ about 30 cents per day in power.

The area is 1/2 meter x 1/2 meter.

Do the halide loose light spectrum after a while?

Ive read some lights do.

Thanks for any helpfull info.

Comments (6)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

A 150W halide will put out as much heat as 150W of fluorescents. The heat will be concentrated in a small bulb which is therefore hotter to touch, but the total heat output is the same.

Small metal halide lamps are not as efficient as larger ones, so I would suggest sticking to efficient fluorescents if this is all the light you need. You will get a more even distribution of light. I don't know about fluorescent brands and availability in Oz, but look for 40W T8 tubes that put out more than 3000 lumens. They might actually be a 32W or 34W tube but they sell them as nominal 40W. Or look for a T5 lamp. Either way, aim for 90 lumens/W or more to get the most light for your dollar.