Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ianna_gw

lights for succulents

ianna
18 years ago

Hello everyone,

It's my first time to grow succulents under growlights and need your help. I've several echeverias that have grown rather leggy over the past months under the lights. What kinds of light do I need to keep the plants looking full and lush?

Ianna

Comments (6)

• DanaNY
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Ianna, what kind of lights are you currently using and how many hours are the lights on? How close are the lights to the plants?

I plan to collect echeverias and will grow them under lights as well. I just got a sempervivum (thought it was an echeveria at first) and have temporarily put it under full-spectrum fluorescent tubes until I can repot it. I haven't had problems with legginess with other plants under those lights, but not sure how succulents will do under them. To be on the safe side, I'll probably move it to a sunny windowsill that has a compact fluorescent above it. I'm sure it wouldn't get leggy there.

Hopefully we'll hear from someone who's successfully grown them under lights. I'd like to know if it's possible for echeverias/semps to bloom under lights? And how would they do in a SE or SW window without lights? I've asked in the C&S forum, but no answers. I hope someone here can shed some light on this (excuse the pun). ;)

• joezkool
    18 years ago