Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
weebay

best 24' fluorescents for peppers indoors

weebay
17 years ago

Hi,

this is my first try growing indoors completely (not just for seed starting) and I am getting a little confused about all the different lighting techniques.

I am planning on growing peppers indoors in an area about the size of a closet so the space will only handle 2 foot size bulbs. I have read that once plants get over a foot or so it is hard for fluorescents to reach the base of the plant. But I can not offord the more pricey HID lamps.

I was thinking of putting one 24" light fixture with two 20 watt bulbs in it, one cool white kitchen and bath bulb by GE which is 1275 Lumens and 3000K and one Sunshine GE bulb which is 875 lumens and 5000K.

Can anyone tell me if this is a wise plan or if it would be better just to use 2 cool white ones? I didn't see anything higher than 20 watts for a 24" fixture. Do I need stronger bulbs? Should I put another set of 2 foot bulbs hung lower when the plants get bigger?

Thanks for any advice!

Comments (9)

• feldon30
    17 years ago

Unfortunately, there isn't really a "guide" or "primer" on all of this.

I guess so many people have different ideas that there isn't enough consensus to write such a document?

I am presuming that a 24" 20W bulb provides roughly the same light to a 2' area that a 48" 40W bulb provides to a 4' area? In other words if I put two 24" 20W bulbs end-to-end, they'd produce roughly the same light (but more wasteful, energy-wise), that a single 48" 40W bulb would produce?

To me this is a key question but have a hard time finding the answer here.

There's also a lot of question about using cool white vs. plant/aquarium light bulbs.

At $8.50 a pop for plant/aquarium light bulbs x 4 ($34) every year plus $30/month in electricity, it's almost not worth growing peppers indoors I think. If you figure 6 months of growing a year that's $214 or over 100 red bell peppers with tax.