Return to the Growing under Lights Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
inquiry about growing lights for a first timer

Posted by cghpnd 7 / Virginia (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 11, 13 at 11:39

Hey y'all.
I have been gardening for about 5 months.
Most plants are outside but I have some that will need to come in for the winter. They were originally supposed to go to my friends greenhouse but unfortunately it was destroyed during a recent storm. So I have to resort to growing lights.

What I have for inside is spider, peace lillies, snake, wandering jews, peporomias, etc. I have to bring the succulents in and id like to bring milkweed in as well. Any ideas on what to do with the space im working with?
I do not get much sun in the winter.
The vent above is shut off and covered so that will not a factor.
Please excuse the mess as we just came home from vacation.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: inquiry about growing lights for a first timer

Buy some LED grow lights it would be very nice with your hanging containers too. 10W will be fine for your hanging containers for each. I do not see any mess.

Good luck
Caelian

o

Why milkweed? It's very hardy (the roots), and comes back year after year. I'm not sure it will do well inside. I'm thinking of the genus that monarchs like (Asclepias).

o

Why milkweed? It's very hardy (the roots), and comes back year after year. I'm not sure it will do well inside. I'm thinking of the genus that monarchs like (Asclepias).

o

I went to Home depot and asked if they could show me where the lights were at. They asked what for just in a general convo and i said for plants... They showed me these outrageous prices. and It was regular lights, not for growing.. So. Can you help me with this please.. Is there a particular brand i should get? Can I use regular LED lights on them? How would you set it up with this space?

Oh believe me, its a mess ..... that spot is usually empty but we just made those cages for the butterflies...