Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
habman_gw

Hardening off

habman
16 years ago

Well this is my first year growing peppers and tomatoes.

I started my seedlings under CFL.

I also had a few mature pepper plants under a 400 watts HPS.

Well no use growing under artificial light in the summer.

So I transplated my tomatoes and peppers outside.

Ouch ... most of them went into severe shock a few died.

The leaves turned yellow very quickly.

The sun is so strong compared to artificial light.

So the question is if next year (a few weeks before planting outside) I put 2-3 black lights or pure actinic bulbs,

would that help ease the shock?

Black light and pure actinic bulb emit into the UV range.

I assume that the plants got a shock because under artificial light they had very little exposure to UVs.

Thx

Comments (10)

• mkiker
    16 years ago

I would think it would be better and easier to first put them inside a closed window. The glass will block most of the UV but the plant will still get strong light.

• habman
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Yeah that would be ideal but in my case it's not possible.
    I live in small appartment.

• mkiker
    16 years ago

If it's the UV that's hurting them then a blacklight might work. You could also get a germicide bulb http://www.1000bulbs.com/products.php?cat=T8-Germicidal-Tube-Lamps,-Medium-Bi-Pin

those put out almost pure UV, but it may be too much UV depending on how close the plants are and the power.

I wonder if it's infra red that's hurting them and not UV? Just a thought.

Here is a link that might be useful: germicide lamps

• watergal
    16 years ago

Do you have a place outdoors that is somewhat shaded where you could harden them off? I am lucky to have a somewhat shaded east facing porch. I start the plants at the shadiest end and move them down the porch towards the sunnier end gradually over a week or so.