Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
osgardener

New to lights- lettuce question

OSgardener
12 years ago

I am new to growing under lights, and I have some questions about my setup. I am trying to grow lettuce, as lettuce appears to be simple to grow under a light. I have spent hours of reading trying to figure out if I have the correct setup, but cannot seem to figure it out on my own.

I am using a shop light (the round kind that have clips) with a Sylvania CFL 23 watt daylight bulb. It is 6500K and has a light output of 1,450 lumens. From what I understand, for growing lettuce one needs a light at the blue end of the spectrum. Will this bulb work for growing lettuce, or did I buy the wrong bulb? If so, what bulb would you recommend? I am trying to keep things simple/cheap, hence starting with lettuce.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Comments (15)

• wordwiz
    12 years ago

My raft system is about 30" wide and I use 4 40-watt daylight bulbs. Seems to be working fine.

Mike

• OSgardener
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Mine setup seems to be working fine as well. Although my lettuce has yet to sprout, I have two tomatoe seedlings and an eggplant under the light and they seem to be growing quite well. My lettuce is in a round container, which is why I am using a round light. All seems well, I just wanted to double check I was doing things correct. Thank You for your reply.

• OSgardener
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I also have another question I forgot to include in my original post. How many lumens are ideal for growing lettuce?

• wordwiz
    12 years ago

Not to be flippant, but lumens are like points in Drew Carey's "Who's Line Is It?" program. What counts is the intensity (measured in Foot Candles or Lux) of the light hitting the plant. I just measured mine and I'm getting 6500 lux or ~604 FC.