Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
watergal_gw

Indoor basement greenhouse?

watergal
16 years ago

I have a lot of experience with grow lights, but none with greenhouses.

I was thinking of getting one of the cheaper "portable" type plastic covered greenhouses (maybe 6x8 feet) and putting it in my basement with some grow lights inside (or maybe outside?). This would presumably help keep the heat up and the humidity contained during the winter.

Anyone done something like this, or have any brainstorming ideas to share? I'm cross-posting on the Greenhouses & Garden Structures forum. Thanks!

Comments (10)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    16 years ago

I have one thought. If you want to have the lights inside your growing area then you should choose a "container" that doesn't have transparent sides to lose all the light. A white wooden box is good for starting seeds, or white sheets for a larger area. Polystyrene sheets are good if you need more insulation but that would probably be overkill in a basement.

• watergal
    Original Author
    16 years ago

shrubs, good point. Thanks!

• mkiker
    16 years ago

I like the idea of an indoor greenhouse but it may be easier to turn the entire basement into a greenhouse. Get one of those space heaters with a water canister on it to keep the humidity up, upgrade the lighting severely, maybe pop in a ceiling fan if possible to keep air flowing, and a few reading lamps over any plants that have higher than average light requirement.

Just a thought

• watergal
    Original Author
    16 years ago

It's a great thought, and one I fantasize about frequently. However, I'd have to evict the other family members who also like to use the basement and dislike intense light and humidity in their faces. Unfortunately, my family does not share my love of horticulture.

I do have my eye on the kid's playroom, which is a semi-basement type setup (although no water access - that would have to be added). Once she goes to college, look out!