Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gmgpk

T8 Light Fixtures

gmgpk
17 years ago

Hi all,

I have a 4-shelf light garden that I am using the T8 light fixtures from Home Depot on and I was wondering if any one else was having the same problem that I am having. I've been using them for about 2 years now and really like the looks of my plants, but I am having to replace a fixture about every 3 - 4 months because it just quits working. Has anyone else had this problem? I am on my 3rd light fixture on some shelves! I have one out right now and I am going back to the T12 fixtures because the T8 fixtures aren't worth the cost of replacing every 3 or 4 months.

We built our 2 light stands ourselves; mine has 4 shelves(full of gessies & Orchids) and his has 3 shelves(full of Orchids). His still has a T12 fixture that has been in use for about 6 years. When we installed all the fixtures we attached them to each shelf; then fixed them so that all the fixtures on each stand runs to one cord and that is plugged into a 12-hour timer. Thanks for any feedback!

Shelley

Comments (11)

• lightmaster
    17 years ago

The Lights from HD? (Commercial Electric with Sunpark ballasts)

How many are running into the timer?

-j-

• gmgpk
    Original Author
    17 years ago

There are 4 light fixtures on each timer. The HD lights are the cheap $6 or $7 shop light fixtures with a instant on electronic ballast.

Shelley

• watergal
    17 years ago

Yep, exact same problem here. T8's give out such nice light and the electronic ballasts don't hum, but the life span is so darn short. I'm gradually switching over to HID and Wonderlights since most of my plants are big, but I need decent shop lights for the short stuff. Help!

• maineman
    17 years ago

Shelley, Watergal,