Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msugrl2010

cheapest and efficient way to start vegetables next spring?

msugrl2010
11 years ago

Hello,

I'd like to start some vegetables from seed next March 2013. I don't have a lot of money (I'm a student and live off of loans). Can anyone give me advice on what kind of grow light/bulb to get that would help me start some tomato plants, pumpkin and watermelon and keep them going until about may? I'd appreciate anyone's help.

Thanks!

MSUgrl

Comments (6)

• Garden_Gnome_
    11 years ago

My first though it: how much do you love watermelon and pumpkins? ;) They take up a lot of space! If you're a DIY kind of person, it's relatively easy to make your own lighting set up with sockets and sheet metal reflectors and it's a whole lot cheaper. A fluorescent bulb or two--like a shop light should work fine, Since you want something that's relatively cheap.Go for a "cool white". high output color florescent bulb and don't worry about positioning them close to the plants--they don't really heat up that much. Metal Halide bulls are good for vegetables and starting from seeds, but WAY expensive.T5 fluorescents are too, and i think you can get the same results as a cheap "Shop light" set-up.

Good luck!

• msugrl2010
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Garden Gnome,

I wanted to start 4 watermelon plants and 2 big max pumpkin plants.

Can you send me a link of a picture with what your talking about? I'm new to gardening XD.

Thanks for your help!

MSugrl

• Garden_Gnome_
    11 years ago