Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deandreamgreen

lowering temperature

deandreamgreen
16 years ago

Hi. I am brand new at gardening, much less using grow lights. I just started some mustards, chinese cabbage, pak choi, and tatsoi. They've germinated and I've moved them into the basement under T8 lights.

Ideal growth temperature is around 60 degrees with a max at 70. My temperature under the lights both day and night is approaching 75. Any ideas about how to get the temperature down closer to the ideal range?

There are vents for the central a/c down there; but it's an older house and I have those baseboard registers upstairs that I don't see a way to close; so I'd freeze myself out. Plus, there's the expense.

There are a few small windows that open in; but they only open partially and have no screens.

I guess I could buy some fans; but isn't having those blow on these tender seedlings going to kill them?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out.

Comments (5)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    16 years ago

Fans are the perfect solution. Use gentle fans or place them far enough away that the seedlings don't get blown away the first day, but imagine the winds a plant must cope with outside. Very soon they'll be able to handle a gale and be all the better for it.

• deandreamgreen
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I went out and bought 4 fans to surround my grow table and haven't seen any lowering in temperature. Do I need more fans? Should I put the fans on high and let them blow the the grow lights around? Is there a specific way the fans should be placed as far as distance and height? Or did I just waste my money?

• deandreamgreen
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I had another question related to the temperature issue. I guess it makes more sense from a strictly temperature point of view to have the lights on at night and have their rest period during the day.