Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenguysorchids

orchids under lights please help!

gardenguysorchids
14 years ago

Hi, I know plants but am a complete idiot when it comes to electrical items and am a complete novice to growing under lights. I also admit to being afraid of electrical do-it-urself and will have a professional instal the lighting. I have 50 plus orchids which are being moved from all over the house to the basement this winter. The area that I am converting to my orchid nursery is about 10 x 10 feet. The walls are white and there is a double sliding door facing due East. There are no obstructions to block the natural light. In plain simple terms what type of lighting should I look for? I have a veriety of orchids, Catts, dendrobiums, phals, oncidiums, epidendrums and militonias that will find this area their new home for the winter. So I will need different lighting conditions for all of them to be happy. My orchids are grown outdoors from May to October. Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks, Bill

Comments (6)

• taz6122
    14 years ago

Since they will get some sun, I would go with fluorescent. Now here's the hard part. There are T12, T8 and T5 and there is also a T5HO and a T5VHO. This list goes from cheap to very expensive. T12 will do if they are close to the plants. T8 can be a little further from the plants and so on. T5VHO can be hung on the ceiling and the plants on the floor. You can buy chains for the T12s or T8s so that you can adjust for growth. There are many combinations you can do with this and I don't know what you want to spend. Just something functional or if you want looking like a piece of art. Do you want to hang shelves or use a grow rack or are they just going on the floor?

• gardenguysorchids
    Original Author
    14 years ago