Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stevethumb21

Planning to switch to LED grow lights. Your Opinions/Suggestions/

Stevethumb21
10 years ago

First of all I want say sorry If this has already been discussed somewhere on this Forum. One of my friend is considering growing with LED lights instead of HID or flouro's. Regrettably, I am not savvy with LED lights, so I could most definitively use some experienced info.

He is planning to get an full spectrum LED light for 60 sq. ft. room with the recommended 3k lumens per sq. ft. coverage plan. I did some look around for him but still what could be more valuable than shared Experiences and so here I am. Lend me your expertise to make the right decision !

Comments (4)

• zen_man
    10 years ago

Hi, Steve,

I am sure this has been discussed many times before. I use fluorescents because I have been using them for many years and I have them on hand. LEDs have been making a lot of progress, and some cars use them for headlights.

Not everyone would agree, but I think you should make the decision based on cost. A 40-watt fluorescent lamp puts out about 2800 lumens and a 37 mW "Superbright" white LED puts out about 0.2 lumens. I don't know what the LEDs are currently selling for, but my 4-foot fluorescent tubes cost about $3 each. You would need about 14 thousand of those LEDs for the same light output. I don't know if you could get that many of those LEDs for $3, but I kind of doubt it.

However, this is one of those questions that calls for a second opinion, and a third opinion, and so on. And cost might not be the deciding criterion for some people. LEDs do have advantages in heat generation, safety, low interference, etc.

ZM

• nick1427d
    10 years ago