Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luvz_gw

Is my setup ok?

luvz
18 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to this. I've been reading here for quite some time on how to do this, and this is what I came up with.

I bought a shoplight with Philips Alto 40 watt bulbs. The light output is 2325 Lumens.......The color temperature is 6500k....and the color rendering is 84, not sure what that means lol. Anyway...I have some cacti and a couple hoyas under it. Is this going to be sufficient? Here is a pic:

(Sorry for the size of the pic)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. My apartment is a horrible plant home lol, so I have to make do for the winter.

Thanks so much!!

Comments (8)

• luvz
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Maybe I should add that they are T12 Daylight Deluxe bulbs......I did notice at the store, the T8's seemed brighter....but this is what I ended up with....couldn't decide on what T8 bulbs I should get.
    Thanks again.

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    18 years ago

There are two reasons why the T8s looked brighter. One is that the tubes are smaller so the light all coming from a smaller area looks more intense. The other reason is that the T8 bulbs really are brighter! The equivalent Philips Alto T8 bulb provides 2850 lumens (20% more light) and only uses 32W (about 20% less power). Take it back and exchange it if you can. If you can't then you might still save yourself money with a lower electricity bill by throwing away the T12 and buying a T8.

Other than that, the light should be adequate to overwinter your succulents but make sure they aren't getting too warm under there. If they stay warm over winter they will tend to grow and stretch. The answer? A fan.

• luvz
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks Shrubs.....