Return to the Growing under Lights Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cost of running 200w CFL

Posted by harleygirlmars 7 (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 19, 09 at 14:14

Big Fat Greetz to you all,

I have some hydroponic lettuce and herbs growing inside. After much research, I decided on a Hydrofarm fixture with a 200W CFL bulb (6500K).

Since I am new to hydro, indoor gardening and lighting, I hope I have made a wise decision for lighting. I could have purchased a 125 W CFL but I figured more is better : )

Should I expect a significant increase in utilities considering I am running the light approximately 16 hours per day?

Thanks for any help!

Mars

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cost of running 200w CFL

You can figure out exactly how much it will cost to run.

200 W * 16 hours * 30 days / 1000 = 96 kWh per month

I don't know what you pay for electricity, but the average electrical cost is around 12 per kWh, which would add another $11.52 to your monthly bill.

o

That's not as bad as I expected. I am also running an Aerogarden at aprox. $6 per month and a pump for the hydro. We just got our bill yesterday and it was much lower than I expected.

Thanks for your help!

Mars

o

I'm guessing these are actually 200w equiv. For instance, the pack of 60w equiv bulbs in front of me each use an actual 14w. This had obvious impact on those numbers. Just a hunch. =)

o

stereotype I think your hunch is wrong. Hydrofarm sells a 200w compact fluorescent. I just can't believe anyone would spend that kind of money on a bulb. I'm curious as to the lumen output. I've got 6 double bulb 4' T12 fixtures and bulbs that cost less than the price of the bulb alone.

Here is a link that might be useful: 200w CFL

o

1000bulbs.com sells them for half that cost ( !$53.00). The bulbs are rated at 10,000 lumens.

Mike

o

Well I know where I will buy my replacement bulbs now thanks to Wordwiz (great name, BTW).