Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joeorganictomatoes

Growing tomatoes from seed

joeorganictomatoes
10 years ago

I've never tried this before (tomatoes)but want to give it a go. Is it expensive to do this from an electricity stand point? I'm considering a system using 24" lights. Not sure if grow lights are the way to go or just full spectrum bulbs. I want to be able to keep the plants alive till I can plant them in the ground and in my zone the last frost date is a SWAG. Can anyone help me out and steer me in the right direction? Thanks so much

Comments (35)

• slimak
    10 years ago

Just so I'm clear, are you planning to just grow seedlings from seed or you want to grow bigger and than put them outside?

• joeorganictomatoes
    Original Author
    10 years ago

hi slimak
    TY for chiming in. .I'd like to grow them bigger till I can plant them outside. Maybe to the size of 4". This past season I purchased my plants from Bonnie and I'm estimating that they were probably about that size.

• slimak
    10 years ago

Ok that won't be a problem. How many of them do you want to grow?

• joeorganictomatoes
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hello again and ty "slimak". I was thinking of using a 24" fixture and growing 24 plants. I'd love to start the seeds in 4" containers so I wouldn't have to transplant them before I put them in the ground. I was also thinking of using peat pots so I wouldn't disturb the roots. Is all of this possible? Is the light fixture that will accomplish my goal energy efficient? Your advice is greatly appreciated. TY

• slimak
    10 years ago