Return to the Growing under Lights Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Do I need lights in solarium in winter in Los Angeles?

Posted by srosa02 10/Los Angeles (My Page) on
Tue, Nov 1, 05 at 20:07

I'm getting nervous going into fall and winter. I am new to gardening. I have all my plants on a north facing solarium. (This includes peppers, tomatoes, carrots, lettuce and eggplant.)

There is only one window that can open so most of the plants are behind tinted glass.

I'm concerned about overnight temperatures (40-50 degrees F. I plan on closing the window and hope that is enough. I am looking into lights to help the veggies grow now that there is less light and lower temperatures.

I'm going cheap. I've heard that I can use warm white and cool white fluorescent lights. I've heard that warm white is better for flowering and cool white is better for growing. Any suggestions on which to use and how long? What time of day?

You can check out my setup here, although I've notice my page is off wack. Please ignore that. You get the idea:
http://sarahrosa.com/gardening.html

Thanks,
Sarah

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Do I need lights in solarium in winter in Los Angeles?

I would say that with your California sunshine, probably not, unless you want to extend day length a couple hours. Even during the winter rainy season you get as much sunshine as we do in mid-spring in Ohio!!

o

Actually, I missed where you said a North facing solarium. There I'd err on the side of saying you'd need some supplemental light.

o

Thank you hairmetal4ever.

I tried one warm white bulb on one of my tomato plants and it is not enough. I got to get more. I really need one of the tube fluoro set-ups. It just gets costly.

We'll see.

Thanks for your help.

-Sarah

o