Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michaelinnc84

Fluorescent Light Bulb

michaelinnc84
13 years ago

I am new to indoor growing under a light but we (My wife and I) wanted to grow some herbs and hopefully some vegetables this winter for eating without having to wait until spring.

We purchased a green house and placed infront of a western facing window. I bought a flourescent shop light fixture and lowes but I wasn't exactly sure which bulb to get so I took a guess and got the GE plant & aquarium bulb F20T12 750 lumens, 3500k color. I have a feeling I might have gotten the wrong bulb and should have gotten one around 6500k color but I wasn't 100% sure.

I appreciate any help. So far I have pole beans and chives and plan on planting several more herb and some lettuce and baby carrots.

I look for any tips and I will continue searching this forum.. Great information!

Comments (7)

• taz6122
    13 years ago

Should have listened to your gut lol. P&A bulbs will work but 4100-6500k are better and 5000-6500 are best IMO. A single bulb might work with the added sun light but I would use at least a dual fixture. More light is better IME when it comes to fluorescent.

• michaelinnc84
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Ok we are switching to a double light $9 at lowes but had bad reviews but I am on a budget so I am going to give it a try. Also switching out the bulbs to the 5,000k.

Next question is what do you think about the vegetables I mentioned?

Carrots, Romaine Lettuce, pole beans, chives, garlic chives, rosemary, and other herbs.

Also I am taking the green house back and switching it out for a bigger shelving unit since I noticed on the post of yalls setups that none of you guys were using a indoor green house setup. Since I wont be using the green house do you suggest a humidifier in the room?

Thanks again!

• lesmatzek209
    13 years ago

i have a 4 ft. 8 tube t5 fixture it has 6500k 54 watt day-
    light bulbs, if you use a two light shop fixture with 6500k