Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eileen_plants

20w aquarium lights - will they grow?

eileen_plants
17 years ago

I just turned two 10 gallon aquariums into plant stands and am using the 20w florescent bulbs that came with the set up to supplement light. The stands are backed between two windows facing south, but in this location, they get very little natural light. Does anyone know anything about the lights used in aquarium setups and whether or not they are conducive to plant growth? I have my small succulents in one tank and AV's & ivy in the other - these are NOT terrariums, they are in individual pots and the top of the tank is covered only about 3" by the width of the light fixtures, they are not sealed.

Are these 20w bulbs "cool" or "white"?? How can I tell? I'm a complete novice to growing under lights, as I'm sure you can all tell! Thanks for any suggestions.

Comments (5)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    17 years ago

How many tubes in each tank? One might be enough for the AVs, or might not, but definitely won't be enough for the succulents. Two might be enough for your succulents, you'll have to judge how they go.

The tubes should have some cryptic writing on that will tell you exactly what they are. It will have something like "F20W" or "F20/T12" and a colour line such as "colour54", or "540". It might even say "white" or "cool white".

A 20W T12? Probably cool white, but I know they do make them in other temperatures. Compare the tube side by side with an incandescent bulb. A warm white will look similar, a cool white will make the incandescent look quite orange. Or better yet, compare to a known cool white fluorescent. Cool white will look the same, dayling will look blue-ish, and warm white will look orange-ish.

• eileen_plants
    Original Author
    17 years ago