Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeremysobczak

Advice on Basement Veggie Setup

jeremysobczak
16 years ago

I'm a total novice at this but I have some high hopes so I wanted to run my plan by the experts and see what you guys think.

I want to grow veggies in my basement. I understand things such as tomatoes and peppers have different light requirements than leafy vegetables, but I'd like to grow both sorts. Right now I'm leaning towards the 1000 watt Daystar HPS available here - http://www.hydroponics.net/i/133408. They claim this provides 8'x8' of primary lighting and up to 12'x12' supplemental.

I'm also leaning towards self-watering containers. I have a couple earthbox clones right now and would like to make some individual self-watering containers out of two-liter bottles (http://www.toppers-place.com/pop_bottle_pots.htm). I'm also thinking about the topsy-turvy planters and may use ordinary planters as well.

Ideally I would like to grow greens including lettuce, cabbage, chard, and kale as well as sweet and hot peppers, tomatoes, radishes, leeks, carrots, cucumbers, and perhaps other vegetables as well.

Am I on track for this, or am I being too optimistic? Can I grow all these different things under one lighting system?

I'm planning to run the lights 18 hours a day, does that sound right? What temperature range should the growing area be in for all these different plants? Anything else I should plan for?

I'm assuming houseplant pests are a potential problem.

Comments (18)

• dcarch7 d c f l a s h 7 @ y a h o o . c o m
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You have asked many questions, which will be answered by many others, I am sure. Make sure you do a complete search in this and other forums to get a balanced view. There are people here always trying to sell you some thing.

I do have an off-topic comment to you and others, if you don't mind.

You don't have to limit yourself to growing things in the basement or garage.