Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
squirrellypete

Please Help Identify What's Plaguing Seedlings

squirrellypete
11 years ago

Okee doke, I set up my first lighted shelving rig some weeks ago and started my first seedlings. I am a total noob at growing veggies from seed, let alone growing indoors under lights. I did not use sterile potting mix (yes, I know it's a no-no but my options are a bit limited by price and limited local selection). I used my own mixture of cheap potting soil, sphagnum peat moss and perlite until it was a consistency I felt comfortable with....wouldn't stay soggy but wouldn't dry out overnight.

First major ooops.....I did let them get too dry once and they suffered for it. Many things wilted, especially the broccoli. Tomatoes seemed relatively unphased.

Watering on a much better schedule now, letting top of soil dry out some between waterings but not throughout. Most of the plants seemed to be recovering nicely and once they did I fertilized with diluted fish emulsion to which they seemed to respond to overall.

Problem....as you can see in the pics there is some kind of pest or disease infecting the leaves. Sorry some are a little blurry....best my camera can do.

See the tiny black specs on the left infected leaf??