Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
quinton_gw

led vs. hid vs. fluros. please advise.

quinton
16 years ago

Hello. I'm new at this and just trying to figure things out. My understanding about plant lights is the following. Please correct me where I am wrong. Here goes.

The three most widely used kinds of grow lights seem to be HID, fluorescent, and LED. The strong point of LED as a grow light is that it can selectively emit the colors most efficiently used by a plant. A big problem with LEDs is that the quantity of light they emit is limited, and so its very expensive to build a big enough LED lamp to be useful as a primary grow light.

The HID, (MH, HPS), emmission spectrum is a little less well tailored to a plant's needs than the LED, but HID lights more than make up for that disadvantage by emiting a far greater quantity of light than a reasonably priced LED or a fluorescent grow lamp can. HID lights also penetrate deeper into foliage than fluorescents or leds can. HID light's disadvantage is that it creates lots of potentially damaging heat which usually has to be sucked away with a fan.

Fluorescents are nice because they burn cool enough, (like LEDs), to be able to burn very close to the tops of the plants without damage, and the bluish spectrum of some of the phosphor coatings is very good for vegetative growth. But they lack the red light plants need for flowering, and their light penetrates foliage less than HID light would. So far so good?

But why is it that HID light penetrates better? Is it because light from an HID light has more energy? A photon is a photon, isn't it? Why should an hid's photon penetrate better than any other light source's photon?