Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
javaman99

Newbie - Need help growing citrus trees

Newbie Gardener
19 years ago

I am trying to grow 2 citrus trees (each one year old, so more like citrus plants) inside using lights. I live in the philadelphia region. I purchased a Sylvania Agro-light (60W) and have put it on a timer. The trees are under the light for about 10 hours a day. I noticed that the leaves on the tree are starting to curl-up and drop after I moved them underneath the bulb.

Can experts in the forum answer my questions: What am I doing wrong? Is the light enough? Should I switch from 60 W bulb to a flouroscent bulb instead? Or should I use a 120W bulb?

Thanks for any help and advise !!

Comments (13)

• newbie_bloomer
    19 years ago

I'm not an expert, but I'm trying to grow citrus trees also. I read or heard somewhere that you need light for a longer period of time though. If I remember correctly 15-17 hours a day. I don't think 10 hours is long enough. I could be way off base, but I think your tree may think it is fall with shorter hours of light. Mine aren't doing that great, but I do still have lemons slowly growing. I have mine inside near a small window with one of the same lights you have above it on all the time. I think if I were using a better light I would be able to turn it off for a few hours a day. Good Luck!

• scottplumerias
    19 years ago

Citrus notorious for shocking imho.

I have a 1000 watt light and my Meyer Lemon still dropped leaves when I brought it inside.

I would recommend you have a brighter light and make sure the root zone temp is above 60(Mel says 64F on the Citrus forum.)

Scott

• Newbie Gardener
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Scottplumerias, What kind of light are you using? A 1000 watt light bulb sounds very bright. Can you provide details
    Thanks.

• osuchowski
    19 years ago

wow, my first post on this website :)