Return to the Lily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
your best combo

Posted by denidill 3a Alberta (My Page) on
Fri, Jan 20, 06 at 22:12

Hi,
I am sure this has been talked about in the past...but what about your favorite combination for plants with lilies. I am new at growing them and trying to figure out what will look good with them AND hide the dying foliage later on.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: your best combo

I like them in mixed borders with other perennials.. and the variety of perennials they rub shoulders with is really too big to get into here! (We can grow an amazing range of hardy perennials in Calgary, where I see you are situated too.) So don't limit yourself. Compatible conditions, heights and avoiding over-crowding are about the only rules.
Also, lilies don't really die back until very late in fall, so there is really no need to be concerned about "hiding dying foliage". (Perhaps you are thinking more of bulbs such as tulips, daffodils that go dormant after blooming?) If you select your lily cultivars and species for the widest bloom range, you can have lilies flowering from June into September. And in fact, very late in fall, lilies provide some very nice fall color, as the stems and leaves on different varieties turn various shades of yellow, gold, burgundy and purple. As botrytis is not a concern in our very dry climate here, I have never seen any need to cut down lily stems, thus they add interest through the winter too.

o

I use lilies everywhere.

Mixed asiatics with Cinnamon Fern

Image hosting by Photobucket

Endless Summer Hydrangea and Pink Lilies

Trumpet Lilies near Crab Apple Tree and hostas

Daylily and White Henryi, purely by accident

Daylilies, Catmint & LA Hybrid Lilies

o