Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frances108

my week-old stargazer is dying

frances108
12 years ago

hello! my boyfriend gave me a potted stargazer lily (a foot tall with a fully bloomed flower and 2 buds, the other bud was still green) for valentines day, and i fell in love immediately because of its magnificence. i transfer it every morning at the patio since i have read that it loves the morning sun, i watered it 2 times this week since its also been exposed to rain. the problem is, after a couple of days of receiving it, its lower leaves started to turn yellow and then withered until the upper part leaves looked the same. the first fully bloomed one already withered, while the first bud bloomed beautifully and then died after a few days. i pulled the dead leaves off so im now left with a yellowing stem with a single flower (the one from the green bud before). is my stargazer dying? i have no idea what to do since im very new at this, but i really want to save my beloved flower. what should i do? please please help me.:(

Comments (10)

• Pudge 2b
    12 years ago

Hold off on watering it frequently. If you stick your finger in the soil, it should be dry down to your second knuckle before you water. You also need to make sure it's in a pot that doesn't hold water - there must be holes on the bottom of the pot to allow it to drain and also provide some air for the roots.

The plant may be suffering some shock from a couple of things - first of all it went from the greenhouse wherever it was growing to the store where your boyfriend bought it. Then it went to your home, and then it was put outside in the direct sun. Plants need to get accustomed slowly to all these different factors and it may have just been too much for it.

The stargazer lily needs sun to grow and bloom, but once the flower buds are starting to bloom, it's better to keep it indoors away from direct sunlight. The blooms last longer that way.