Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caryn_in_ma

Can I lift my lilies now?

caryn_in_ma
17 years ago

I am new at gardening, and planted my first lilies last year. They were so beautiful.

I just found out that we're moving, and it's going to be soon! I don't want to lose my lilies :(

Is there some way I can take them with me?

Thank you in advance...

Caryn

Comments (4)

• azngrnthumbs
    17 years ago

Hi Caryn,

If you dig deep and get as much of the basal roots as you can, you should be okay. Its really tricky trying to dig them now because you're very likely to spear into a bulb or damage a developing shoot (which will be this summer's flowers!!), but it's doable. Make sure they are potted up or transplantd ASAP once they're out of the ground!

Good luck!

Riz

• hld6
    17 years ago

Hi Caryn,

Where you live your immediate problem will be digging up the frozen ground. Besides being frozen rock hard, (got a jackhammer?) you won't be able to feel around through loosened dirt with your hands to gently find the bulbs and roots. Breaking apart frozen soil will snap off the roots. The bulbs will still grow, (afterall spring ordered bulbs won't be mailed out for a couple months) but blooming will be set back and possibly reduced (as the bulb uses energy to grow new roots). But since you're moving you'll have to dig them up as carefully as you can under the circumstances. I'd try to dig up a LARGE circle around them, and haul the frozen soil into a moderate temperature area (say garage or basement), let it thaw out and then separate the bulbs from the excess soil.