Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
philly_gardener

oriental lily bulb question

philly_gardener
18 years ago

I am really new to oriental lilies. I planted 6 mixed hybrid oriental lily bulbs (from COSTCO) 18 days ago outside in a flower bed. The average daytime temperature for the first a few days was 50-60, then it drops to 40s for the high, and low 30s for the night. I am in zone 6.

I also planted 9 bulbs from the same package in a big pot. I put the pot outside for day for some sun, then take it inside every night.

So far after 18 days, I cannot see any sprouts come out. Is it normal?

Is it because I only water them every 4 days?

Also can I use the same bulb food I bought for tulips and hycinth on oriental lilies? (I did not see they say that on the bulb food package, so I didn't add them)

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Comments (16)

• stanly
    18 years ago

Hi philly gardener. I have a web site you could try, www.lilynook.mb.ca for some info on lilies. On the left hand side bottom you'll see a "planting and care". If you click on that, it will give you some very simple info on the care of your lilies. Stan

• PRO
    Nell Jean
    18 years ago

It isn't time for Oriental lilies to come up yet. Mine are not even showing signs of coming up down here where the weather is warm. The asiatics are up, the LA hybrids are up, but the Orientals and Trumpets have their own timetable. It takes a while. Please be patient and don't drown them. Use the advice on the website given above about how often to water.

Good luck,
    Nell

• covella
    18 years ago