Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fillagirl_gw

True Red lily that won't revert to orange

fillagirl
12 years ago

I'm looking for a true red lily that won't come up orange after the first year (that's what happened with some red lillies I bought a few summers ago, they were red the first summer, and the next summer they came up orange and continue to come up orange.

I bought some Commander in Chief Lily bulbs from Home Depot...any experience with these? Will they stay red, even if I plant them close to the orange ones?

Thanks in advance, I am a lily newbie.

Comments (13)

• interspecific
    12 years ago

The COMMANDER IN CHIEF will be red for as long as you have it. But the flowers will fade in hot, bright sun quickly (a couple days) in bright hot sunlight to more of an anemic red. It gets about 5 feet tall and is hardy. Another 'true red' which you might really like is RED ALERT. It is blood red and holds that color. It won't fade and its very hardy too. It gets about 3 to 4 feet. You won't find this one at Home Depot, etc. You'll have to go to a lily grower which I strongly recommend anyway for much better bulbs. Here are two really highly respected North American growers that have RED ALERT: www.bdlilies.com in the US and: www.theliynook.com in Canada. A resonable price would be about $5.00 or 3 for 13.00. I have both COMMANDER IN CHIEF and RED ALERT and wish I could attach pictures to show you both but I don't know how. But one thing I do know, if you want good lilies--get them from a grower--you'll be alot happier in the long run.

• hostaholic2 z 4, MN
    12 years ago