Return to the Lily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My lilies baby buds turned brown .Please ,help

Posted by artemisiawormwood (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 24, 10 at 19:45

I have tall healthy looking plants from variety Oriental trumpet lilies (three of them ) in a big pot with good soil
and i water them and they have enough light .I use fertilizer
once per week and all has been good till now ,them baby buds
turned from green to yellowish and then brown .I can not understand what is the problem .I am new to the gardening
and that is my first year to look after lilies .My mother
used to have them in my native country in the garden and they
did pretty well even without a lot care .Can somebody give me
some advice what to do .Till today they have been indoors ,today is nice day and i left them outside .So i do not think so they have some illness as fungi or rust .Is it possible that i used too much fertilizer ?But i use the
same for my mini roses and they are doing well and blooming
nicely .As well i wonder if i loose those buds is it possible that plant can produce new ones ,this year ?
Leaves are without damage ,only buds seems to be problematic
for now at least .:(

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My lilies baby buds turned brown .Please ,help

Well, first - STOP the watering and fertilizing. Once a lily bulb is planted and watered in, the bulb itself has enough stored energy to carry it through the growing, setting buds, and blooming season. You're probably turning the bulb to mush and the damage is showing up initially in the buds. The water/fertilizer requirements for lilies and mini roses are world's apart. Roses like water, but lilies can rot given too much. (Normal rainfall in decently draining soil is enough for them.)

And, no, it will not produce any more buds this season. Although lilies normally produce many buds/blooms on a stalk, once they have all bloomed out (or died out in your case), no more will be produced in one growing season.