Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thisismelissa

New to Oriental Lilies

thisismelissa
14 years ago

Hi y'all.

I have been growing Asiatics for the last 2 years, as well as 1 trumpet and wanted to extend the bloom schedule of my garden so I've purchased some bags of Orientals and Orienpets.

I'm told that Orientals are a little more picky than Asiatics, but I'd like some more info on that. I'm in zone 4a... about 20 miles south of Minneapolis. My soil is a well drained (somewhat sandy) loam.

I've purchased Casablanca, Scheherazade, Yelloween, and Arena. Can you tell me what additional care I would need to provide these lovlies?

Thanks,

Melissa

Comments (2)

• hostaholic2 z 4, MN
    13 years ago

I haven't grown the last two but for me Casa Blanca is one of the orientals that seems to be more tolerant of my growing conditions. As for Scheherazade it is one of my absolute favorites. What's not to love about a lily with 40 or more blooms? Here it took a year or two to settle in and really show it's stuff.
    In general, orientals prefer a somewhat acidic soil, but you don't want to add to much peat moss or it can keep the bulbs to wet. Casa Blanca has been in my garden for about 15 years and is one of the few orientals to come back reliably. Many of them simply fade away after a few years. Combination of a soil ph of 7 and the relatively short growing season which keeps bulbs from storing up sufficient energy for continued growth and bloom.
    Scheherazade has responded very well to yearly top dressing with compost and a little bulb food.

• billums_ms_7b
    13 years ago

Orientals are more fussy about having good drainage than Asiatics, so your sandy soil will work to your advantage. Unfortunately for me, Orientals fade away down here and after a couple of years no longer make a showing. Orienpets (Orientals crossed with Trumpets) do manage to survive my southern heat and clay soil though.