Return to the Lily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tiger Lily Beginnings

Posted by kangaru31 10 (My Page) on
Fri, May 1, 09 at 12:35

last night i stumbled across this tiger lily. I have not had a lot of experience with lilies in the past and i have had NO experience with lilies since i have moved to florida. i need help with them. first of all...the tag says they are tiger lilies. looking at the pictures below is the tag correct? now as far as growing them in florida i need help. is it possible to keep them as an indoor houseplant or must they be planted in the ground? has anyone had success growing them indoors? if i am indeed unable to keep them indoors what are the sun exposure requirements for when i do put them in the ground? ANY help that you can give me is VERY MUCH appreciated by both me and my new lily! thanks everyone!

burr

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tiger Lily Beginnings

1. It is not a Tiger Lily. It is an Oriental.
2. Lilies are not indoor plants. They must be planted outdoors.
3. They might never bloom for you again. Lilies need cold period every winter to bloom. People have problems to get them blooming even in zone 8. Sorry, this plant is not appropriate for you climate zone.

o
RE: Tiger Lily Beginnings

You could simulate winter for them by waiting for the flowering to end and the foilage to die back and then dig the bulb out of the pot (I have planted lilies in my garden in their pots when I wanted to make sure the new bulbs they produced were easy to find.
Take the resulting bulbs and put them in peat moss and a baggie and freeze them for a month or more, then bring them out and let them first thaw in soil with minimal sun and generally increase the sun and temp. If you have central air, you could bring the bulb inside after it blooms and put it in the coldest room of the house while it dies back.