Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
csrliz

Lilium Scheherazade?

csrliz
17 years ago

Has anybody grown these? Are thry truly a rebloomer? I don't want to pay the price if it's not.

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• hld6
    17 years ago

Hi csrliz,

Unlike daylilies there are no reblooming lilium (true lilies). Some lilies have a higher bud count than others and hence a longer bloom season. This is my first year growing Scheherezade so I can't give you specific info. on it yet. But, it is widely reported to have a large number of buds.

Also, if you are buying them now it's late to be spring planting lilies. Unless you get a good sale you might want to wait for the Fall.

-Helen

• csrliz
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Well, I ran aross this ad, and it says specifically it is a rebloomer. I just want to see if it's true. Yes, I would wait till fall to get them and plant.

Here is a link that might be useful: Lillies

• BLC63
    17 years ago

I think they might be using the term "reblooming" loosely. What they probably should say is that it produces many buds, which extend the blooming season for this one (what Helen said). In all of my perusing the web looking at various lilies I've yet to come across one that reblooms the same season.

• hld6
    17 years ago

Hi again csrliz,
    If you read the "fine print" of Wayside Gardens description they are describing a lily with a lot of buds, "new buds keep arising as the first flowers are picked or fade!". This is the general behavior of trumpet lilies. You get a sort of pyramid of buds with the earlier (larger) ones at the bottom blooming first and the ones at the tip getting large later and blooming last. I have a lilium Regale with 25 buds on it - and this is only its second year. Scheherezade is an Oriental X Trumpet hybrid.

I haven't ever ordered from Wayside, but I have to wonder. Either they aren't knowledgeable about lilies or they're overdoing the "salesmanship".